Well, my week long love-affair with Gurren Lagann has finally come to an end, and I as have finally finished the entire series. It now gets to join the ranks of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood as being one of the only anime series to have an emotionally satisfying ending (if you just count the finale itself Death Note would be there too, but you have to remember the whole arc with Near and Mello that led you there that will never be as good as L’s arc). My original prognosis of the show way back from my first review in progress still holds that this series is what happens when you mix up the humongous mecha sub-genre of anime with over-the-top stylistic action movies like Shoot ‘Em Up, and I’ll tell you what, it was a hell of a ride while it lasted.

This tale that started out as a deconstruction of the humongous mecha genre paired with over-the-top, epic, and awesome fighting and humor evolved into something much more. So many different types of stories were represented. Space Opera. Politics. Psychological Dram. Ribald humor. GIANT FUCKING ROBOTS BLOWING UP OTHER GIANT FUCKING ROBOTS IN INCREASINGLY MORE AND MORE AWESOME FASHION. It managed to deconstruct a genre and then reconstruct it all within the space of one series. I’m not really sure how that’s possible but to quote Kamina “Go beyond the impossible, and kick reason to the curb. That’s the Team (Dai-)Gurren way!”. And that’s what the show did. At every point, it bucked any sort of logic or science and simply set out to make a show that was as cool as humanly possible, and you know what, it succeeded.

Before I watched this series, I wasn’t a really a huge fan of the giant mecha genre, and that was one of the reasons why I was so reticent to watch it to begin with. Gundam is not really my thing. So to all those out there who might be concerned that this series isn’t for you since you don’t like mecha stuff, don’t worry. It is so awesome that you don’t worry about that. Also, I almost always watch the Japanese version of the shows with English subtitles because dubs are almost universally god-awful. However, Gurren Lagann‘s dub was actually really pretty good. At no point did any of the voice actors make me want to shoot myself (I’m looking at you, entire English voice cast of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood).

At the end of the day, this is simply a great anime. It has fantastic characters, an epic story that will push you beyond the impossible, cooler fight scenes than on any other show I’ve ever watched, and it manages to change things up consistently and stay constantly fresh despite only being 26 episodes long. If you consider yourself to be a fan of anime, then you need to give Gurren Lagann a try. There is no group of anime fans that I could not easily recommend this show to. So, remember, MY DRILL IS THE DRILL THAT CREATES THE HEAVENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (lol sorry that will make sense after you watch the show).

Final Score: A

