My relationship with British humor has been a long and torrid affair. Ever since I was in middle school and I watched Monty Python and the Holy Grail for the very first time, there has been something about that dry and proper English wit that has enchanted me. I just finished watching 1954’s Doctor in the House from streaming on Netflix, and while it wasn’t one of the best comedies I’ve ever seen and it was sort of boring at times, there were definitely moments in it that reminded me why I love our comrades across the pond.

Doctor in the House is about Simon Sparrow, a young man who is entering his first year of medical school. However, he quickly befriends a group of individuals who have been in med school for years (one of them is purposefully failing so he can continue to inherit money from a rich, deceased relative as part of a technicality of the will) and are just there goofing around, chasing skirt, playing rugby, and drinking themselves silly. The film is meant to be a sort of spoof of medical dramas and there are certain parts that are pretty hilarious (post-rugby match mayhem springs to mind) and for a 1950’s film, the movie is fairly straight forward about how much sex is going in this hospital.

This review is pretty short but this film left me without a whole lot to say. I enjoyed it but in a sort of popcorn way. It will be gone from my head a couple of hours from now, but if you have an interest in classic British comedies, you should give this one a twirl. It might be more up your alley than mine.

Final Score: B-

