*SPOILER ALERTS*

I feel like I’ve reviewed so much TV (and one book) lately and no movies that it would be almost appropriate for me to re-name this blog “A Journey Through Cinematic History” to something more appropriate like “A Journey Through the Random Shit I Happen to Be Watching or Reading at Any Given Moment”. That doesn’t have as nice a ring to it though, so I’ll probably just stick with the original title.

This story arc of Glee brings us even closer to the first season’s sectionals competition which will close up the front half of season 1 as well as advancing some of the show’s various sub-plots, specifically Quinn’s pregnancy and the love dodecahedron (not literally) that compromises most of the show’s relationships. During this group of episodes, Quinn, in what can only be called one of his less bright moments, sings to Quinn’s parents that she is pregnant and she is thrown out of her house by her uber-conservative parents. The show also reveals that Kurt, gay, is in love with Finn, straight. It also teases the shippers out there (people who like to romantically pair characters with other characters regardless of plot) by teasing more of the Finn/Rachel pair and the Puck/Quinn pair.

One of Glee‘s biggest problem is that there is some serious mood whiplash on this show. It has three head writers and they each have an incredibly distinct style of writing and directing, and because of that, one episode can be a wicked sharp, dark and subversive satire, the next one can be more of a high school drama, and the next could fall somewhere in between. I guess I don’t know if that’s so much a problem as it is something you have to adjust yourself to because most shows have much more consistent tones. I prefer my Glee to be a satire, but I’m not saying they don’t do drama well, it’s just something that they will shockingly change into and you’re not always prepared for.

This stretch included one of my favorite episodes of the series, “Wheels” which gives the spotlight to Artie and Kurt for a change instead of the usual Rachel/Finn/Quinn drama show. It also has all of the characters in wheel-chairs for the most of the episode which gives plenty of time for some humor as well as Puck feeding the entire school pot brownies. The next episode “Ballad” both made me incredibly uncomfortable while simultaneously making me laugh my ass off with the story of Rachel momentarily falling in love with Mr. Schuester. The third episode is one of my least favorite of the series though. “Hairography” just made me uncomfortable and it didn’t really make me laugh any.

These three episodes gave me one of my favorite performances of the entire series, Rachel and Kurt both singing “Defying Gravity” from Wicked. It’s just beautiful and I get chills whenever I hear Chris Colfer and Lea Michele belting it out. Other stand out performances include Artie singing Billy Idol’s “Dancing with Myself”, Mr. Schue singing a mash-up of “Don’t Stand So Close to Me”/”Young Girl”, the whole group performing Bill Wither’s “Lean On Me”, and Tina singing Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors”.

I’ll bring my long-winded review to a close but I just wanted to mention some last random tidbits from this episode. Brittany Pierce (Heather Morris) has finally been given some lines and she’s well on her way to becoming the second funniest character on the show. Burt Hummel, Kurt’s dad, made his return and he seriously over the course of two seasons on this show has become one of my favorite TV dad’s of all time. I hope he’s a role model to all the parents out there with gay teens on how to be a loving and accepting father.

Score in Progress: B+

