SPOILER ALERTS

 As a critic, I’m going to have to learn at some point that just because a book, movie, or a TV show makes me cry like a little school, that does not necessarily make said work good. I’ve inherited my father’s weepiness when it comes to emotional moments (put Rudy on and my dad and I are going to need several boxes of tissues between the two of us). So, just because the Christmas episode from this season of Glee had me in tears does not make it good, although I actually still think it was a good episode. I enjoyed it more now than I did when it first aired (probably cause working in retail had made me incredibly cynical and tired of Christmas around that time).

This disc was only two episodes long and brings the first half of Season 2 to a close. The New Directions have lost Kurt to the Dalton Academy Warbler’s since he transferred because of Karofsky’s bullying. However, Kurt finds that the Warblers won’t be any easier for him to stand out in since Blaine is nearly as talented as Rachel. Sectionals finally arrives, and despite tumultuous personal problems amongst the group, they manage to tie with the Warblers and make it to Regionals. Finn and Rachel break up after Rachel learns that he had sex with Santana while Rachel was dating Jesse St. James and Rachel decides to cheat on Finn with Puck to even things out. Emma has married her dentist, Carl (John Stamos), and broken Will’s heart in the process. Lauren Zizes (Ashley Fink) joins New Directions to fill the missing spot of Kurt and begins to date Puck.

The other episode is the Christmas episode. The two main stories are Sue taking on the inevitable role of The Grinch and trying to steal Christmas away not just from the Glee kids but from homeless children that they had been buying presents for. The site of Sue and Becky re-enacting scenes from the Grinch is a pretty funny visual gag. The other story involves the fact that Brittany still believes in Santa Claus, despite being in high school. It gets even worse when she asks the mall Santa to let Artie be able to walk again. I spent the last ten minutes or so of this episode in tears. There was also a duet between Kurt and Blaine of Frank Loesser’s “Baby It’s Cold Outside” and it’s one of the most sincere and romantic moments between two gay characters that I’ve ever seen on network television and was the high point of the whole episode. It was so flirtatious and effective that I’m still shocked it made on network TV. Maybe we’re finally maturing as a nation.

Sectionals had some really good music numbers this year. While I dislike the original song, I thought that the Warblers did a great job with Train’s “Hey, Soul Sister”. I wasn’t a huge fan of Sam and Quinn’s duet of “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” but Santana did an exceptional job with Mark Ronson’s “Valerie” and it was topped off with Mike and Brittany’s sensational dancing during the song. There really needs to be more Mike and Brittany dancing on this show. They’re amazing. Tina and Mercedes rocked out with Florence and the Machine’s “Dog Days Are Over” as well. Much like “Defying Gravity” in Season 1, Kurt and Rachel did a fantastic duet version of “Don’t Cry For Me, Argentina” from Evita.

Tomorrow brings another new episode of Glee. A major character is supposed to die. I doubt it will be any of the New Directions, but that would be really ballsy if that’s what happens. My money is that it’s going to be Karofsky who commits suicide over guilt of his bullying of Kurt and his inability to come out of the closet. That’s going to take the show to an incredibly dark place, but I think it will make for compelling television and will bring the show’s anti-bullying story arc full circle in the most effective way that I can imagine.

 Score in Progress: A-

