So, I just realized I hadn’t reviewed anything for the blog since Friday. Since I normally review at least two items a day, this is obviously not good. Before any of my loyal readers (who aren’t also friends with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter) think I’ve died or gotten sick, I’m perfectly healthy. All of the video game nerds (like myself) out there know that The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim came out on Friday. Outside of food and work, I haven’t done much else since then. The previous entry in the series, Oblivion, was the game that convinced me to go next-gen as its promise of open-ended role playing was more than my inner Dungeons and Dragons geek could turn down. Over the ensuing months, I put easily over 2oo-3oo hours into that game on multiple playthroughs. I’ve been eagerly awaiting Bethesda’s follow-up, Skyrim, ever since it was announced, and it was more than I could possibly have hoped for. It cleans up the vast majority of the legacy issues of the series (though, alas, not Bethesda’s infamous bug problems at launch) while increasing the graphical fidelity of the series to modern standards as well as upping the sheer scope and ambition of the franchise. I’ll have a full review after I’ve beaten the main game (as well as completed a healthy number of side quests). Needless to say, I haven’t had this much fun with an RPG since Mass Effect 2 came out, and this game exceed’s Bioware’s magnum opus in every category except for graphics at this juncture.

