Here’s another thing that I should have finished writing about on Sunday but I found myself postponed because of the Oscars that night and then my birthday/going out with a friend on Monday. Regardless, it is now time to write about the second disc of Matt Smith’s initial season as the Doctor (even if I’ve already seen the first episode of the next because I couldn’t stand not knowing how the two-parter that begins in episode four ends). All I can say so far about this season is that I don’t understand why people have a problem with Matt Smith whatsoever. I said something along these lines in my last post about this season, but it bears repeating. Matt Smith hasn’t proven himself to be a superior Doctor to David Tennant yet, but in just five episodes (cause like I said, I’ve seen one more), Steven Moffat has done more to revitalize and re-imagine this series than Russel T. Davies was able to accomplish in his entire tenure. Yeah, he’s begun to flagrantly ignore the established canon of the series, but he does it in a very clever and meta way, and I approve.

After receiving a phone call in the TARDIS from Winston Churchill, the Doctor and Amy travel to 1940’s London at the height of the blitz (when the Doctor is in the blitz, you know it’s going to be a good episode) to inspect new technology that Churchill believes will help England win the war. The Doctor arrives three months after the message went out (in Churchill’s time) because the newly regenerated TARDIS is still a little sticky about getting time right. In the interim, Churchill has already rolled out his tech which turn out to be Daleks that a Scottish scientist claims to have invented. It turns out the Daleks made the scientist (who is a robot) and have been biding their time to create a new production line that rolls out the next evolution of the Daleks because the Doctor fails to stop them from being created or escaping (though he does save humanity). In the next episode (which is part 1 of a two-parter), the Doctor gets a message from River Song thousands and thousands of years in the future (and millennia after she had sent the message) to rescue her which the Doctor does in predictably awesome fashion. However, there problems have only just begun when River (who is the prisoner of a religious order of warrior space marine/monks) leads an investigation of a ship that contains the universe’s last weeping Angel. Little do the Doctor, Amy, and River know that the labyrinth where the ship crashed is also home of thousands of Angels who have spent the millennia dormant but are just about to wake up.

“Victory of the Daleks” is in the running for my favorite Dalek story that wasn’t the Season 2 finale. I loved that the Doctor was able to stop the Daleks from helping the Nazis destroy London but he was unable to do any damage whatsoever to these newly formed Daleks (I loved the colorful nature of their new design. They don’t seem quite so monotonous anymore) and he essentially lost the same kind of battle that always trips up superheroes like Batman and Superman where he has to let the bad guys get away to save people he cares about. Too often, it seems as if the Doctor has achieved a near total victory over enemies like the Daleks and Cybermen and then the series provides a massive retcon to allow them to return. Here, we at least know, these guys are out there biding their time til they can return and there won’t have to be some ridiculous excuse plot for why they’ve returned. “The Time of Angels” was the real star of the disc though. It may not have been as good as the original weeping angels story, “Blink,” but it was damn close. It was wonderful to see the return of River Song and we get another layer of her as yet incredibly unexplained relationship with the Doctor, but she has such a playful and flirtatious nature with both Matt Smith and David Tennant that it doesn’t matter that she’s basically still just an enigma wrapped in a mystery ( I feel like I screwed that quote up). Also, it was simply terrifying. The Weeping Angels are unbelievably frightening, and it ended on an absolutely massive cliffhanger. The pacing was phenomenal and there was much more action in this story than the original “Blink”. I’m just glad I know how it all ends (brilliantly).

I’m going to keep this reviews length to a minimum because I really want to have it up before the new episode of Justified starts in ten minutes. All in all, I’m really excited about where this season is going. I’m quickly coming to the conclusion that it might be my favorite season of the show yet, and there’s a possibility that I think Matt Smith was better suited to the role of the Doctor than Christopher Eccleston was (and I really love Christopher Eccleston’s Doctor [he was my first]). I can’t wait to see where Steven Moffat takes everything, and I love the fact that he’s really made an effort to incorporate what ever cosmic threat that promises to destroy the universe this season into the regular episodes much more naturally but also more emphatically than Russel T. Davies had during his tenure. With the exception of Bad Wolf, all of the big bads at the end of the season, only seemed especially noticeable in retrospect. I’m down for the rest of this Doctor’s travels, and I can’t believe there was ever a time when I was scared to begin this season.

Final Score: A-

