Man, I can’t believe I’ve finally reached 200 movies and I simultaneously can’t believe that it took me this long to get here. When I first started this blog, I was averaging something like 3-4 movies every day for the first month but once I started incorporating all of the other media into this site, my movie viewing slowed down and at various times I’ve gone on extended hiatuses where movies were the least of my concern for content for this site. Anyways, if you don’t know, every 50 films I watch on here, I do a best of list as a convenient guide for my readers so they can know what I think were the superlatives in specific categories over the last 50 films. The last time I made one of these (not counting my one year anniversary list) was back in October so it’s been a while. and without further ado…

Best Picture Drama:

1. The Tree of Life

2. Persona

3. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

4. Cinema Paradiso

5. High Noon

Best Picture Comedy:

1. Modern Times

2. Happiness (1998)

3. Midnight in Paris

4. Vicky Cristina Barcelona

5. A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas

Best Director:

1. Ingmar Bergman:Persona

2. Terrence Malick: The Tree of Life

3. David Fincher: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

4. Todd Solondz: Happiness

5. Charlie Chaplin: Modern Times

 

Best Actor in a Dramatic Role:

1. Dylan Baker: Happiness (I know I have this film labeled as a comedy and it is, of a sorts, but his role was fully dramatic)

2. Jack Nicholson: The Shining

3. Ian McKellan: Richard III

4. Mickey Rourke: The Pope of Greenwich Village

5. Gary Cooper:High Noon

 

Best Actor in a Comedic Role:

1. Richard Dreyfuss: The Goodbye Girl

2. Owen Wilson: Midnight In Paris

3. Charlie Chaplin: Modern Times

4. Jack Nicholson: About Schmidt

5. Kal Penn: A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas

 

Best Actress in a Dramatic Role:

1. Rooney Mara: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

2. Liv Ullmann: Persona

3. Viola Davis: The Help

4. Noomi Rapace: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2009)

5. Winona Ryder: Girl, Interrupted

 

Best Actress in a Comedic Role:

1. Sally Hawkins: Happy-Go-Lucky

2. Jane Addams: Happiness

3. Scarlett Johansonn: Vicky Cristina Barcelona

 

Best Supporting Actor:

1. Philip Seymour Hoffman: Happiness

2. Javier Bardem: Vicky Cristina Barcelona

3. Christopher Meloni: Wet Hot American Summer

4. Peter Graves: Airplane!

5. Ben Kingsley: Hugo

 

Best Supporting Actress:

1. Angelina Jolie: Girl, Interrupted

2. Marion Cotillard: Midnight in Paris

3. Jessica Chastain: The Help

4. Octavia Spencer: The Help

5. Jessica Chastain: The Tree of Life

 

well that does it folks. come back again in a couple of months to see where this list goes next time!

 

 

 

 

