By the time that we’re a month down the line with these “Song of the Day” posts (if I keep it up for that long which I really hope I do. I hope to have a “Song of the Day: #365” before we know it), you readers are just going to think I’m the biggest hipster on the planet when it comes to music. Since I write about independent music professionally, I can probably earn that reputation a little bit. Anyways, my fourth song of the day is the gorgeous country-folk duet “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. Reminiscent of the best Johnny and June Carter Cash duets, it’s a tender love song with a bevy of whistles, hand claps, horns, and expansive hippie love and peace. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes have a slight reputation as being a hippie band, and while this is easily the most accessible and mainstream single, it definitely captures a lot of their retro, communal appeal.

 

