Well, in today’s sad news, Levon Helm, the drummer/vocalist for classic rock legends the Band, has passed away after finally succumbing to his battle with throat cancer. It was just two days ago that his family had reported that he was in the “final stages” of his cancer, and it seems that they were tragically correct. My song of the day yesterday was “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” by the Band as well, but Levon Helm is enough of a massive figure in American music history (if not in terms of public recognition then at least in terms of continued influence) to merit the Band making this list two days in a row. The entire world of alternative country wouldn’t exist were it not for the Band and Southern rock would have never been anything more than a regional phenomenon. The Band will always be legends and Levon Helm’s voice provided much of our memories with the Band. I woke up to “The Weight” on my alarm clock every week day during high school for over two years. I’m a self-described agnostic but “The Weight” remains a spiritual palate cleanser and just hearing it makes me feel uplifted. R.I.P. Levon Helm. We’re all going to miss you.

