This seems like such a cliche choice right now, especially since the song reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, but whatever, Gotye’s smash hit “Somebody That I Used to Know” is probably my favorite song of the year (even though it technically came out in 2011). I was interviewing Isaac Slade from The Fray when he recommended Gotye’s album Making Mirrors and it’s been love at first sight ever since. Along with Grimes’ Visions and Bruce Springsteen’s Wrecking Ball, it’s been a clear choice for one of the best albums of the year. “Somebody That I Used to Know” might not even be the best song on the album (that’s possibly “Smoke and Mirrors”) but damn if it isn’t the catchiest and most memorable. Gotye’s going to be huge. He’s got a #1 song in the States (and he’s been massive internationally for years now) so he already is big, but he’s going to be a star in the pop scene here in the states for years to come. This is going to be the song that got him there (it’s even been covered on Glee for God’s sake) especially after his lively rendition with co-star Kimbra on Saturday Night Live. It doesn’t hurt that this is also one of the best music videos of the last year or so. I’m going to stop rambling about how much I love this song and just implore you that if you somehow haven’t heard this one (I’m so proud of the fact that I knew about this song before it became a massive success) to check out the awesome music video below.

