Hoo boy. If I’m ever going to pick a song with a complicated backstory as my “Song of the Day,” this is going to be it. “A House Is Not a Home” is one of my favorite love songs of all time. I first heard it performed by Chris Colfer and Corey Monteith on Glee (and later in the same episode by Kristin Chenoweth as part of a mash-up with “One Less Bell to Answer”), and then I discovered the very famous Luther Vandross cover and then finally the original version by legendary soul singer Dionne Warwick. Trying to pick which version of this song to use (because I feel like it’s themes are really appropriate for some emotions I’m experiencing in life right now) was a serious battle, and I finally decided to settle on the version performed by Kristin Chenoweth in the 2010 Broadway revival of the classic Neil Simon musical Promises, Promises. No matter who is singing this, it’s a beautiful song, but Kristin Chenoweth’s voice is pretty much an unmatched powerhouse, and like I said, this song fits where I’m at in my life right now (or at least this weekend). So, cheers everybody.

 

Also, for those who might be interested. I also have started making a Spotify playlist of my Songs of the Day which will be organized by month. April is only going to be about 2/3 of the correct length cause I started a week and a half or so into the month, but from this point forward, they should all be pretty kosher. You can get to my playlist here if you’re interested.

