I feel kind of miserable today so I need some musical comfort food for my Song of the Day. What better than a group of chill New Jersey rockers making breezy, unmistakably youthful slickpop? The first concert I ever covered for work here in NYC was a DIY show for rising New Jersey indie rock stars Real Estate at a Chinese restaurant in Queens. It was a hell of a night. I even ended up in a Pitchfork video covering the event (check in at the 0:17 mark for the long-haired kid with the brown leather jacket. That’s me). Real Estate’s closest thing to a hit has been their breakthrough single, “It’s Real,” which was a huge crowd pleaser at the concert to say the least. It’s a nice, relaxing song with great harmonies and an absurdly catchy chorus. There’s plenty of meat to the song as well, but right now, I just need to hear Matthew Mondanile’s excellent guitar work and Martin Courtney’s peaceful vocal delivery as I battle my very frustrating sinus infection (or whatever illness I’m suffering from). Also, the video is almost absurdly adorable with plenty of cute puppies and what not.

 

For those who want to hear the Spotify playlist for April so far (almost done!), check it out here and enjoy.

