Despite being a white kid from rural WV, I’m pretty knowledgeable about hip-hop, both old and new. I can probably ascribe this to growing up with three African-American foster siblings and the fact that my foster brother Darryl would play his Tupac and Bone-Thugs-N-Harmony CDs almost every night before we went to bed. It’s been a while since I’ve used a rap song for this series, and I randomly decided to listen to Bone-Thugs-N-Harmony’s greatest hits on the subway ride to work this morning. This isn’t actually one of my favorite Bone Thugs songs but, for some reason, it really stuck with me when I heard it today and I ended up listening to it on repeat several times in a row. The song, “Notorious Thugs,” was originally featured on the final album from the Notorious B.I.G., Life After Death. What I was struck by this time was just how insanely hypnotic Biggie’s flow is. I’ve never really gotten into Biggie all that much. From that early 90s era, I mostly listen to West Coast hip-hop. I didn’t become an East Coast (though mostly Chitown thanks to Kanye) hip-hop fan really until Wu-Tang and also Jay-Z’s early stuff. But damn, if Biggie doesn’t have possibly the best flow of all time, I don’t know who does. Anyways, enjoy.

 

We are now three days into May so the Spotify playlist for the month is still in its infancy. However, if you want to hear what it sounds like so far (and have access to previous months playlists and/or other playlists I’ve made in other capacities), listen to it here and spotify and if you subscribe you can know what the next song is hours before I actually write my post.

