Let me be completely upfront. I hate country music. Unless we’re talking Johnny Cash, it just isn’t my scene. Not only is it not my scene, it’s the complete opposite of my scene. It is the antithesis of everything I like about music. It’s this faux-populist, jingoistic deluge of mediocre tunes of carefully constructed personalities appealing to some imaginary idea of what America should be (i.e. absurdly conservative and bigoted like North Carolina). I basically can’t listen to any country music unless the artist in question also has the word “alt” before “country” when people discuss his sound. So, when I say I love Swedish country-folk band First Aid Kit, I say that with absolutely no reservations because these incredibly young sisters are such talented performers and make gorgeous music. I caught them at Webster hall (which you can read about here) and they completely owned that 800 person crowd. One of my favorite First Aid Kit songs is “Emmylou,” a beautiful love song dedicated to some of their favorite performers of the past. It’s pure Americana country-folk, but that doesn’t make it any less haunting or memorable. And coming from a guy that despises the genre, that’s saying a lot.

 

If you want to check out May’s Song of the Day playlist, head on over to Spotify to find it here. I’ve also started aggregating an entire 2012 playlist which you can also find here if you want a wider selection of tunes.

