This time next week I’m going to be back at my dad’s house in Philippi, WV, where I’ll be staying for the summer. To say that I’m not looking forward to leaving New York City would probably be the understatement of the century. Anyways, I want to dedicate this last week’s worth of statuses to how I’m feeling about this wonderful, life changing semester and perhaps even my move. So, in true Don Saas fashion. Let’s start it off with some show tunes. I really feel like I took a major risk this semester coming to NYC to pursue a writing career. I’m not exactly in the best shape academically and I would have probably been better served in a traditional sense by staying in Morgantown and trying to get a 4.0 for the semester without dropping any classes or making a fool of myself in some other way. But I’ve never been a traditional guy, and I was wallowing in self-pity in Morgantown because of how miserable and conventional everything felt. I needed to feel unshackled and see if I could succeed in a much bigger sea than Morgantown. I peaked too early in Morgantown and because I felt no challenge whatsoever (and saw no way out any time soon), I threw in the towel in disgusted defeatism (among plenty of other reasons). Trying to be a writer in one of the most competitive cities on the planet was a serious risk and I completely rose to the occasion. So, I’m choosing “Defying Gravity” from Wicked as my Song of the Day because it’s all about living and trying to achieve greatness. And that’s what I think I’ve done and will continue to do now that I know I can do better than Morgantown (which I’m only returning to because it’s affordable to finish my schooling there and I don’t have that much school left).

 

If you want to listen to May’s Song of the Day playlist, you can find it here on Spotify. If you want a broader selection of tunes, you can find the playlist for all of 2012 here.

