Well, let’s follow up a show tune for my song of the day with a song from one of the archetypal post-punk revialist bands of the late 90s/early 2000s, the Dismemberment Plan. Their album Emergency & I is one of the best straight up rock records made since the 1970s. Bar none. Most of the other albums I really love from the 90s and 2000s are either electronic or indie pop influenced (Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Broken Social Scene, etc.). This is pure in your face post-punk rock that has spoken to tons and tons of fans over the years. And it has aged magnificently. I’m choosing this song as one of reflective choices in my last week here in NYC because it does speak of “a life of possibilities” as the title alludes but it also has some darker cynicism and a jaded sense of reality. Also, it’s just one of the best indie rock tracks of the 90s. And I write about indie music. It was never a matter of “if” this song was going to be used someday. It was a matter of when and today seems as appropriate as any other.

 

According to the stats part of this website, which tells me (among other things) when people click on external links in my posts, no one has ever actually clicked on the links to hear my song of the day playlists on Spotify so I don’t even know why I keep putting the extra time to place them in the posts. Regardless, if you want to hear the May playlist, you can listen to these awesome tunes here. If you want to check out the wider selection of all of 2012, you can find that playlist here.

