Well, I’m sort of cutting it close with this thing today. I just wanted to make sure that I had at least two real posts in before I tried to do a Song of the Day post since I did four in a row without any reviews. I’m still getting acclimated to being back at home (and continuing my epic quest to clean the clusterfuck that is my dad’s apartment. Easier said than done) so I’ve just been trying to find the most appropriate time to do my actual blogging. I’m still two posts behind (Glee and Game of Thrones) so even after I put this up, I’ll likely spend the rest of my evening catching up on those last two posts I need to review. My choice for Song of the Day was actually pretty easy today. I reviewed the new Beach House album, Bloom, for work today (it was awesome) and my favorite single off the album is the stunningly gorgeous “Lazuli.” It’s a beautifully constructed dream pop song but a big, big reason that I love it probably has something to do with the fact that the beginning sounds like the prelude theme from Final Fantasy VII. I mean seriously. It sounds just like it. This new Beach House album has been one of my three highest reviewed albums of the year so I highly recommend that everybody check it out. Anyways, I give you the haunting voice of Victoria Legrand on the sublime track “Lazuli”.

 

