I spent like six hours today putting the finishing touches on an interview I did with iconic Canadian alt-rockers (at least in their homeland) Our Lady Peace about a month ago that the website I work for will be running tomorrow so my choice for my song of the day was pretty easy. This is probably my favorite song by these hard-rocking, raw Canadian veterans and it comes off their seminal 1997 album Clumsy. It’s called “Superman’s Dead” and while I’m sure it has deeper meaning because of lead singer Raine Maida’s fondness for cryptic lyrics, it’s just a fun, catchy, bad-ass rock song from an era that was defined by really shitty corporate alt-rock bands like Nickelback and Creed. I actually caught Our Lady Peace in concert. It was a hell of a show (which you can read about here) and while their type of music isn’t the kind of thing I normally listen to, I definitely know that this band has a ton of great singles, and if you dug this song, you should definitely check out the rest of their tunes. Their greatest hit album is chock full of awesome jams.

 

