So, one of the first bands that I saw live in New York City (they were third I guess technically out of around 30 or so concerts) was Brooklyn indie pop act Hospitality. Their album, Hospitality, was so solid that I named it one of the most impressive debuts since Cults. The concert itself was excellent (which you can read about here). There was a single (with an excellent music video starring Arrested Development‘s Alia Shawkat) off the album called “Friends of Friends” that was literally one of the very first posts I wrote about at my internship on my first day of work (although my first post goes to a music video for Jersey lo-fi punk band Cloud Nothings). I always thought this single had mainstream radio legs although I guess I was wrong. I thought the same thing about “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men and it’s only gotten some slight airplay despite them being on a major label. Anyways, if you miss 90s style feminist alt-rock with some folk-pop leanings, you should check out “Friends of Friends” from this Brooklyn band and if you ever have the chance to see them live, I definitely recommend it. They put on a hell of a show.

