I might write mostly about modern independent music (I just did the second half of an interview with Ryan Monroe of Band of Horses today), but classic rock will always have my heart. It was where I spent my most formative musical years and ultimately has colored the things I enjoy most about music (strong lyrics, instantly endearing melodies, instrumental virtuoso, soaring harmonies, etc) even if some of my favorite bands are the ones that most shy away from classic rock archetypes (Radiohead, Animal Collective, Sigur Ros). One of my all time favorite performing acts is Simon and Garfunkel. Paul Simon rivals Bob Dylan as one of the greatest lyricists of all time, and the bohemian poetry of his seminal works will never lose its charm. Garfunkel’s okay too I guess (I still have to question how much he really contributed to the group). While my favorite Simon and Garfunkel tune is probably “The Boxer,” the song that’s in my head right now is “My Little Town” which for obvious reasons, seems particularly relevant at the moment. It’s a song about growing up and outgrowing the people around you. It’s about recognizing the flaws of what birthed you while simultaneously recognizing perhaps its simple beauty and innocence. For a song that never ended up on an official Simon and Garfunkel album (instead on their solo works despite still being a dual effort between the pair), it’s still an all-time classic of one of the all-time greats.

