I’m one of the bigger Beatles fans I know. I’ve got physical copies of all of their studio albums. I have in-depth (though constantly shifting) opinions about where each album and/or song fits in the Beatles pantheon, and I’ve seen the Beatle’s Cirque du Soleil show in Las Vegas (it was amazing). I could listen to them all day long and never grow tired because they have such a depth of sounds. It’s one of the great shames of the era that I was born that I will never get to see them perform live. However, I honestly think that Joe Cocker’s soulful rendition of “With a Little Help From My Friends” is simply superior in every way to the original song. Hearing his earthy and bluesy delivery, it’s impossible to not be turned into an emotional trainwreck, and his interpretation of the number just completely alters the emotional impact of the song (so that it actually has an emotional impact). My sister and I were debating which version is better (she prefers the Beatles) and that inspired me to make this my Song of the Day. So, without further ado, check out the footage below of Cocker performing this number at the very first Woodstock (and forgive him for his epileptic seizures/fits).

