I’m a pretty big fan of Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti. Combining the acid-tinged pop of the 1960s (alongside a deliciously lo-fi recording process) with more modern indie pop sensibilities (along with a healthy dose of New Wave for good measure), Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti were almost designed solely to appeal to music nerds like me (and considering the bands very niche appeal and market, that statement is pretty true). I even reviewed their album Before Today for this blog. Ariel Pink has my single favorite song from the year 2011. Considering Kanye West released one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all time that year (and also simply one of the greatest albums of all time period) that’s a pretty bold statement. There was also a new Arcade Fire album that same year. Still, nothing off of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy or The Suburbs came close to being as memorable as “Round and Round” off of Before Today. That’s not my Song of the Day though. I’m saving that tune for a rainy day. Instead, I’m going with my second favorite song off the album which I enjoy more and more with every listen. “Can’t Hear My Eyes” has to be one of the weirdest pop songs this side of an Animal Collective “B”-side, but it’s still an expertly constructed pop song that steals the best from yesterday while wrapping it in a decidedly modern shell. There’s no one else out there that sounds like Ariel Pink (even if you can pick Pink’s influences), and that’s why we love him.

