Well, I’m back for Bonnaroo. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my entire life (and simultaneously one of the most miserable). I’m going to do a quick post about 20 “short thoughts” on my crazy four days baking in the Tennessee sun after I put up my first Song of the Day post after my short but necessary hiatus from this blog. The cell phone reception was unbelievably awful in Manchester at the Bonnaroo camp site, and I don’t have a smart phone anyways. My (stated) goal for the next long while of my Song of the Day series is to pick a song from each act that I saw in Bonnaroo (unless they were so bad that I’m still trying to mentally block out their performance [yes that means you, Yelawolf. You suck so much]). So, without further ado, here is the first band that I really caught (I sort of heard vaguely one earlier act in the day but they weren’t enjoyable at all). Brooklyn dance rock/indie pop band Rubblebucket inaugurated my first ever Bonnaroo (and my first ever music festival), and they set the mood for the rest of the crazy, awesome weekend. The band had like 8 people in it, including a trumpet player, a trombonist, and a saxophonist. They just had an incredibly amount of energy, and out of all of the bands I saw this weekend (with the exception of the absurdly energetic Red Hot Chili Peppers), no other performer matched their energy and passion. They weren’t one of the top acts I saw. Their songwriting is still a little unpolished, but damn, they were a ton of fun. They have about two or three awesome singles, and I’m going to go with the one that has a music video, “Came Out of a Lady” that still remains one of my favorite individual performances from the weekend. At one point (during a different song), they even brought out the sheet dancers from the music video for “Summertime Clothes” by Animal Collective. Their energy was just incredibly infectious. I actually caught the tail end of one of their other sets (smaller bands often play like three times over the weekend), and they seemed even more excited the next day as the lead in act for Colin Hay. You should definitely check out their most recent album, Omega La La.

