Here’s a set from this year’s Bonnaroo that I didn’t actually catch most of. I only caught like the last three songs as I was trying to get a good spot for Danny Brown. I left Mariachi El Bronx early (because their show wasn’t that impressive) and I caught the last part of The Lonely Forest instead. I actually saw these guys about two months ago when they opened for Portugal the Man at Music Hall of Williamsburg (you can read about the show here). However, they sounded pretty fantastic when I saw them at Bonnaroo. The sound engineering for this concert was much better, and lead singer John Van Deusen’s powerful voice was actually able to impact the way it was meant to. They’ve got a couple really good singles but the second to last song from their set was my favorite song that I’ve seen from them (and my favorite song of their’s period. I’ve actually probably played it about six times in a row since I started writing this post. I highly recommend catching The Lonely Forest if you ever get the chance. They have a really ambitious blend of anthemic indie rock with some elements of garage and noise. They’re not necessarily one of my favorite indie bands but they put on a hell of a show nonetheless. Plus, once you hear this song, it’s going to be stuck in your head for hours and hours.

