Here’s a song that everybody in my offices at work is obsessed with (but me). I interviewed up-and-coming L.A. indie pop/rock act Electric Guest a while back (you can read the interview here) and this band is just buzzy as hell at the moment within indie circles. They’re the sort of indie band that could wind up having the cross-over mainstream appeal that Foster the People had when they assaulted your radio with “Pumped Up Kicks” every fifteen minutes or so. I’m not actually all that crazy about the band. Their music is fine but it’s not necessarily for me. I’m especially not as crazy about this song as everybody in my offices. I didn’t even attempt to see their set at Bonnaroo (and I only caught two songs) but they were right before tUnE-yArDs and I guess Michael Kiwanuka didn’t use all of his available time. Still, this song sounded pretty good live, and I know from interviewing Asa Taccone just how much of a perfectionist this man is about his music. Recording their debut album, Mondo, nearly killed the man. So, everybody else seems to love the shit out of this song but me, so I’ll give it a chance and see how it translates to my readers. Maybe I’m just being a curmudgeon here. It wouldn’t be the first time.

