I didn’t actually intend on catching any of world music favorites AfroCubism at this year’s Bonnaroo. I enjoyed their music when I first listened to it as I was trying to sort out my schedule, but I wanted to see Fitz and the Tantrums instead. However, my experiences on Thursday (as well as trying to get a good spot for the who I assumed to be obscure tUnE-yArDs on Friday) made me realize that for bigger acts, if I wanted a good spot, I had to arrive early as possible. So, for Feist, I decided to skip out on most of Fitz’s set and head to the Which Stage early so I could get in the line for the pit for Feist. I wound up second row so it was a good decision but she’s tomorrow. Because I arrived so early for Feist, I caught the last couple songs of world music act AfroCubism. They sounded pretty great so I didn’t have to feel bad about missing out on most of Fitz. However, I should have skipped Feist as well to get in line for the Radiohead pit, but that’s a story for another day. I’m not intimately familiar with a lot of AfroCubism’s music, but this song “Mali Cuba” does a good job of showing how the band combines traditional African music alongside traditional Cuban music. It makes for a fun mix.

