I went to see The Amazing Spiderman today. It was awesome and honestly it was as good as The Avengers. Expect a review after I put my True Blood post as well as my surprise movie review. Anyways, the fact that I went to see that (and walked around the mall for a little bit) was the reason that I still haven’t managed to catch up with my two remaining backlogged posts. So, here’s one of the acts that I was most looking forward to at Bonnaroo. I enjoy Childish Gambino’s (aka Donald Glover’s) music but my feelings are complicated because he makes some really awful jokes in his music. The Casey Anthony joke in “Bonfire” is the most obvious contender. However, I named Donald Glover the fourth best act of the weekend that I saw in a post I wrote for work. His energy was insane and with a full backing band (a first for any hip-hop act I’ve seen live), his production was through the roof. Even with a litany of technical issues, he powered through and gave one of the most fun sets of the weekend. There are a lot of great songs on Camp, so this was another difficult choice about which song to choose. I decided to go with the title track because (along with “Heartbeat”), it’s an easy contender for one of the best tracks on the record. It’s certainly one of the most personal and that’s Gambino’s strong suit. When he’s telling deeply personal stories of being an outsider within the hip-hop community (as well as the African American community in general), he’s doing something no one else is doing.

 

Just as a reminder, you can find my still growing Spotify playlist for July’s Song of the Day series here. If you subscribe, you can find out what my song of the day will be several hours before the post goes live.

