I’ve got a serious case of writer’s block today.  I watched Being John Malkovich last night but I went to bed before I finished my review. I haven’t been able to work up the energy all day to try and get back to write on it because there just aren’t any words coming to me right now. They aren’t coming for that or for a bit of copy I’m providing for a friend for a website for his independent film (Follow the Leader). Sometimes, I just write so much in a week that I fry my brain a little bit, and I think I need a good 24 hours to recharge. Still, I have to do my Song of the Day post. Red Hot Chili Peppers were the last band I saw on Saturday at this year’s Bonnaroo. I was going to see GZA play Liquid Swords but he was on at 2:30 in the morning, and my feet were bleeding by the time I made it back to my tent after the Chili Peppers finished at midnight. Subsequently, I also ended up missing D’Angelo make his first U.S. concert appearance in over a decade when he played the Superjam. Anyways, the Red Hot Chili Peppers were fucking awesome. For dudes that are all 50 now (except for new young guitarist Josh Klinghofer), they can still rock like its 1992. Flea is just a god on the bass guitar. The conversation begins and ends there. I named them the fifth best band I saw that weekend for work and they actually managed to put on a more entertaining live show than even Radiohead (though obviously Radiohead is a better band than the Chili Peppers could ever hope to be). I picked “By the Way” because I didn’t really (somehow cause I’m stupid) know the song before Bonnaroo but I’ve definitely fallen in love with it since.

 

Make sure you take the chance to subscribe to the still-growing July Song of the Day playlist on Spotify. You can find it here and subscribers will be able to see my Song of the Day selection several hours before everyone else.

