It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these. It was March 4th to be exactly so I’m actually keeping up my 50 movies every 3 month average, more or less. Well, it’s time for one of my favorite parts of this blog. When I try to make a list of the typical superlatives for the last 50 films I’ve reviewed for my blog. I’ve experienced what can only be called exponential growth since my last Best Of list. I’d actually say that easily 75% of my followers have arrived since then even though my blog started in February of last year. Anyways, this should be a good, quick guide to what I thought were the best films/performances of my last 50 films.

Best Picture Drama:

1. Synecdoche, New York

2. 8 1/2

3. Wings of Desire

4. Double Indemnity

5. Adaptation

Best Picture Comedy:

1. Being John Malkovich

2. The Butcher Boy

3. Muriel’s Wedding

4. The Descendants

5. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

Best Director:

1. Federico Fellini: 8 1/2

2. Spike Jonze: Adaptation

3. Wim Wenders: Wings of Desire

4. Billy Wilder: Double Indemnity

5. Ralph Fiennes: Coriolanus

Best Actor in a Dramatic Role:

1. Woody Harrelson: Rampart

2. Philip Seymour Hoffman: Synecdoche, New York

3. James Wood: Salvador

4. Ralph Fiennes: Coriolanus

5. Otto Sanders: Faraway, So Close

Best Actress in a Dramatic Role:

1. Felicity Huffman: Transamerica

2. Sibel Kikelli: Head-On

3. Anjelica Huston: The Grifters

4. Meryl Streep: The Iron Lady

5. Sienna Miller: Interview

Best Actor in a Comedic Role:

1. George Clooney: The Descendants

2. Eamonn Owens: The Butcher Boy

3. Will Ferrell: Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

4. John Cusack: Being John Malkovich

5. Billy Crudup: Jesus’ Son

Best Actress in a Comedic Role:

1. Toni Collette: Muriel’s Wedding

2. Catherine Keener: Being John Malkovich

3. Christina Applegate: Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

4. Samantha Morton:Jesus’ Son

5. Jennifer Grey: Dirty Dancing

Best Supporting Actor:

1. Edward Norton: Primal Fear

2. Chris Cooper: Adaptation

3. James Dean: Giant

4. Max von Sydow: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

5. Christopher Plummer: Beginners

Best Supporting Actress:

1. Patricia Clarkson: Pieces of April

2. Rachel Griffiths: Muriel’s Wedding

3. Berenice Bejo: The Artist

4. Melanie Laurent: Beginners

5. Anouk Aimee: 8 1/2

Well, folks. That’s it. Be sure to come back in about three months for 251-300. Also, I’d love comments in the comment section about what you think of my list. I’d love to create more of a dialogue with my readers although I definitely appreciate the likes that you guys have started giving my posts. That’s great too.

P.S. Saying that an actor gave a great performance in a film is not an endorsement of said film (i.e. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close or The Iron Lady). For anyone interested in the reviews of these films, they are hyper-linked the first time a said film appears.