The Police are one of the best rock bands of the 1980s. It’s pretty clear to me. The way they combined reggae, New Wave, and jazz was light years ahead of its time in predicting the ska movement (along with the Clash who combined the reggae with punk). Sting is one of the best songwriters of the last 30 years, and their ear for hooks is uncanny. I don’t know how many guitar riffs or synth lines by the Police that I have memorized. Way too fucking many. How can you not listen to Synchronicity and not have your mind blown? People that scoff at rock musicians who have a great ear for catchy pop hooks irritate the piss out of me, and I know far too many “serious” music types that think the Police were too “poppy.” So fucking what? Anyways, I wanted to choose another song from the 80s, this time the early 80s. And thankfully The Police’s Ghost in the Machine came out in 1981, and it includes one of my favorite The Police tracks, “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic.” It’s 30 years old now and still as brilliant as it was in 1981.

