One of the better concerts that I went to in New York City was for a band that I hadn’t even heard of prior to the concert. Although they were the headliners of Arts & Crafts Records showcase at Mercury Lounge that night, I was there to cover the second ever concert of the new Broken Social Scene side project of drummer Justin Peroff, the definitely under-appreciated Eight and a Half. Still, Canadian classic rock revivalists Zeus managed to bring the house down. Their energy was phenomenal and their Zeppelin via power pop sound was a perfect fit for the intimate confines of the tiny Mercury Lounge. Later on, I even had a chance to interview the band. After being on the shortlist for the Polaris Music Prize (Canada’s biggest music award) for their debut album, the band released their second full-length this year, Busting Visions. I’ve only listened to it once and it’s definitely enjoyable, but the biggest pleasure on the album was the lead single, “Are You Gonna Waste My Time,” which is a perfect fusion of modern and classic rock sensibilities. It’s a sin that these guys aren’t better known in America.

