The first time I ever heard this classic track was on the soundtrack to Platoon. I actually don’t even think I had seen Oliver Stone’s classic war film yet (regularly counted among the best war films ever made). My dad purchased the soundtrack to the film, and we listened to it a lot. There were a ton of great tunes on there including the Rascals, Aretha Franklin, Percy Sledge, and I want to say Jefferson Airplane as well. I might be wrong about the latter. The only song on the album I actively disliked was the god-awful “Okie from Muskogee” which I rank among the worst/most jingoistic songs I’ve ever listened to. Along with Otis Redding’s “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” (I’m pretty sure it’s on the soundtrack), the song that got the most play from me was “The Tracks of My Tears” by Smokey Robinson & the Miracles. It’s one of the greatest soul songs ever recorded and I hope you all enjoy it if you somehow haven’t managed to hear it before.

