It is “Santigold” these days right? She used to be Santogold, and she changed it to “Santigold?” I don’t really care that much. All I know is that “Disparate Youth” is a brilliant tune, fusion enough (ironically) disparate genres together to make something entirely new and fresh. It’s weird how much I like this song because the first time I heard it, I didn’t get what all the big deal was. She was performing it live on the Jimmy Kimmel show and maybe the acoustics were bad or maybe she was just having a bad night, but I couldn’t get into the song. I’ve listened to the studio version countless times now, and god, it’s fucking good. Combining IDM, some elements of indie pop, as well as R&B, Santigold creates something that can only be defined as sounding like Santigold. I haven’t actually had the chance to listen to all of Master of My Make Believe yet, but it’s been one of the more celebrated albums of the year. So I’ll have to give it a chance some day. Anyways, enjoy.

