This should throw everybody for a loop. If I was going to pick my very first song from M83’s fantastic album from 2011, Hurry Up We’re Dreaming, most people would have guessed “Midnight City.” I love that song and it’s probably in my top 10 tunes of last year, but I’m going a different route. Probably just to be a douchey hipster. Not really though. I just loves me some Zola Jesus. A friend of mine, who was the person to turn me onto indie music in the first place, came up to visit me in NYC and we went to a Zola Jesus concert at Webster Hall. We had a blast. It was actually the first time we had ever hung out in real life. We’d become friends through Facebook and shared interests and we thought “What better place to finally hang out in real life than NYC at a hipstery music hall.” Anyways, I’m not sure if “Intro” is as good as “Midnight City.” That was one of last year’s indie anthems, but whereas “Midnight City” gives you an immediate sense of satisfaction, this song is a little more slippery. You have to engage with it on a more personal level and I like music that forces me to confront it on its own terms. Between M83 and Zola Jesus, that’s delivered. Enjoy.

