How have I not done a Bob Dylan song yet? I haven’t done The Beatles, the Stones, Zeppelin, or the Clash yet either so maybe it’s not that bad. I do tend to primarily focus on modern music just because that’s what I write about and it helps me to keep on top of my game. But for some reason, today I was feeling nostalgic, and has there been a greater songwriter than Bob Dylan in the history of American music? I think not. Bob Dylan’s been making music since the early 1960s and he has another album scheduled for release either this year or the beginning of next year. Picking a Dylan song to use for this series isn’t easy since the man has literally dozens upon dozens of fantastic tunes. Certain tunes, “Tangled Up in Blue” or “Visions of Johanna” for example, I want to reserve for special occasions because I have deep emotional connections with much of Dylan’s music. I decided to go with the undeniably iconic Dylan standard “Rainy Day Women #12 & #35” because it’s a landmark song of the folk movement without being a song that seems destined for specific uses on this blog. Enjoy.

