I’m a fairly vocal critic of the whole dubstep movement, especially the American offshoot of the movement which I “kindly” refer to as “brostep”. Acts like Skrillex and deadmau5 just don’t hold any interest for me. It’s all about the “wub wub” and the bass drop. There’s no ear for sonic exploration and creating interesting, new soundscapes (which is what the original British dub acts like Burial were trying to accomplish). Maybe I’m not on enough ecstasy to appreciate it, but it’s just not my cup of tea. Which is why Colorado band Big Gigantic is so awesome to me. They’re a combination of electronic dance music, dub step,  as well as live, improvisational jazz. The genre they’re most often associated with is “livetronica” and yeah, that’s as awesome as it sounds. They played Bonnaroo this year and put on a hell of a show, and I played this song at work today for one of my bosses, and he really dug it. So, if you like electronic music as well as jazz, you should definitely give Big Gigantic a shot.

