They Might Be Giants are going to be a pretty regular fixture in this series. Ever since I saw them live at Terminal 5 in NYC, they skyrocketed to one of the bands that I think is most under-appreciated out there. The only concert I’ve ever been to that I thought was better than them was Bon Iver (and then the Shins squeak just behind They Might Be Giants). Having been around for 30 years now, it shouldn’t be surprising that TMBG just has an absurdly deep field of singles to choose from, and, live, they know exactly how to please their audience. I’m going to have plenty of time in the future to dig into their “classic” singles from the 90s and 80s, but I don’t think a lot of people realize just how great TMBG’s last album, Join Us, was. It’s definitely one of their best albums in the last 15 years or so. I decided to go with one of my favorite singles off the new album, “Can’t Keep Johnny Down,” cause it’s got a pretty cool music video too. I actually got my ex (though we were never officially dating but we were together for two months and did all of the things couples do our age) a signed copy of the last album at the TMBG show I covered (she was my +1), so this album has a special place in my heart. Enjoy.

