Ah. The Soderberg sisters. Or as they’re better known, First Aid Kit. Here’s a band that I had never heard of before I moved to NYC to do my internship writing about music for Baeble. However, on my very first day on the job, my second assignment (the first was a new Cloud Nothings video) was to write about their newest single in advance of their then to be newly released album, The Lion’s Roar (you have to remember that this was back at the end of January). That song was “King of the World” and it featured Conor Oberst from Bright Eyes. I’ve been in love with the gorgeous Soderberg sisters ever since then (or at least I’ve been in love with the pretty one. The other keeps getting progressively chunkier. Yeah, I’m an asshole I know). I’ve already used their gorgeous tune “Emmylou” many moons ago because whenever I heard it, I would always think of my then sort of girlfriend, my now ex. Along with “New York City” by They Might Be Giants and “Kissing the Lipless” by The Shins, it’s one of several songs I can’t hear without immediately thinking of her. Anyways, this song is a great folk tune that is much more upbeat than First Aid Kit’s usual output. Enjoy.

