There’s a new Grizzly Bear record out tomorrow. I reviewed it for Baeble, and I’ve got to say, it’s pretty damn good. It’s probably my second favorite album of the year so far, trailing the practically perfect channel ORANGE. I’m about 90% sure I like this record even more than Veckatimest and that’s really saying something. I would go on and on about why I love the record so much, but you can click the hyperlink earlier in the post for my review if you’re interested in the band/the album. “Sleeping Ute” is the album opener, and what a way to start things off. Completely redefining what you thought was possible with Grizzly Bear, the song finds the band shedding their psych-folk/pop roots to instead explore blues infused rock and roll but then they completely change the tenor of the song halfway through just to leave you guessing. The whole album is like that with a dynamism that is the hallmark of truly stellar records. Enjoy.

