Since I wrote about music in NYC for an entire semester, it shouldn’t be surprising that I’m a big believer in the power of music. Hearing specific songs without fail generates specific emotional responses and always triggers specific memories. Hearing “Truly, Madly, Deeply” by Savage Garden always makes me think of middle school dances and the first times I ever slow-danced with a girl. Every time I hear “Your Song” by Elton John, I think of the night I sang it to an ex-girlfriend (she definitely seemed to appreciate). And “Kissing the Lipless” by the Shins, well I really don’t want to share my specific memory there but it’s a good one. When I have girlfriends (those rare, rare occasions), I’m a big believer in  using music to enhance our most intimate and personal moments. I will spend way too much time making the perfect playlist. I’m not sure if 2012 has had a better song for one of those mood music playlists than “Share My Love” by R. Kelly. He’s become a bit of a joke these last couple years, but on this tune, he’s in full-on Al Green/Teddy Pendergrass mode, and it is wonderful. It’s a shame the music video is awful. The song is fantastic though.

 

