It’s been a while since Gotye’s made an appearance here at Hot Saas’ Pop Culture Safari. His international smash-hit “Somebody That I Used to Know” was one of the very first songs that I used for my Song of the Day on here. In fact, it’s probably the only song I’ve ever predicted success for months in advance of it becoming a #1 hit. My very first interview at Baeble Music was with Isaac Slade from The Fray, and during that interview her recommended Gotye. So, I reviewed Making Mirrors, and it remains one of my favorite albums of the year. In terms of cross-over mainstream pop accessibility from an indie act, no one else has come close (but obviously other albums have been better.  Nearly every song on the record has the potential to be a great single, and that’s rare in these days when albums are mostly vehicles to promote one or two singles. So, now, I’m going on with one of my favorite tracks on the album, “Eyes Wide Open.” I actually can’t pick my favorite tune on the CD because there are so many compelling choices. But this is very much Gotye in a full-on Phil Collins mode, and I love it.

