I don’t believe in heaven, but if it exists, I hope it sounds just like Agaetis Byrjun by Sigur Rós. In fact, if there were no other sounds than those produced by Jónsi and crew, that would be fine by me. There have been better records made than Agaetis Byrjun, but I’m not sure if there’s ever been a more beautiful LP made in the history of popular music. If someone ever asks you to find music to help them find their center or to get off a depressed slump, just tell them to lie on the couch and put on Agaetis Byrjun. No one will be sorry. Finding yourself drifting away on the intense aural pleasures of Sigur Rós literally heavenly music is one of the most singular joys of modern music that I can think. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve found myself sad or confused or in a rut where I put that album on and almost immediately saw my mood improve. There’s something nurturing and almost womb-like about the record. What better way to introduce Sigur Rós neophytes to their music than their 10 minute epic (if a song featuring a decidedly minimalist aesthetic can be termed epic) “Svefn-g-englar.” I’m not sure if that’s Icelandic or their made up language of Hopelandic. All I know is that this is one of the most gorgeous songs off of easily the most gorgeously constructed album ever made. Also prepare for a music video that may make you cry.

 

