Wow. Joe Biden had to show up tonight to save a quickly plummeting Barack Obama presidential campaign, and good lord, did he show up? I’ve been an avid political observer since I was in the 6th grade (which was the year of the 2000 election between Bush and Gore) and in that entire time, I’m not sure if I’ve watched a more exciting debate than the one which just came down between Vice President Joe Biden and Congressman Paul Ryan. I’m a pretty radical leftist so it shouldn’t be shocking who I supported going into this debate. A lot of people seemed to forget (because the VP can be a bit of a gaffe machine) that in the past, he was respected as a great debater. I’m glad everyone forgot because that means his performance tonight should have exceeded all expectations. He came out swinging with a combination of facts and down-to-earth tone that President Obama has never been able to muster. It reminded me (not quite as happily though) of President Clinton’s performance at this year’s DNC. VP Biden simply came through in a time when President Obama needed it more than ever. This was a clear win for the Veep. So, I’m giving him the second ever shout out in the history of my Song of the Day series with “Street Fighting Man” by the Rolling Stones. Cause he just beat Paul Ryan all over that stage like a red-headed stepchild. I’m also drunk and maybe shouldn’t be writing.

