I can not for the life of me understand the Billy Joel hate (among serious music types) that has retroactively formed around the Piano Man as his career has drawn to a close. Maybe it’s the unabashed alcoholism. Maybe it’s the admittedly spotty quality of anything past The Stranger. Whatever it is, Billy Joel has received an almost revisionist record of his musical history over the last twenty years. And it’s a shame because the man has an almost endless library of great tunes. “Piano Man,” “Only the Good Die Young,” “Uptown Girl,” “Anthony’s Song.” I could go on all day. Hell, I just lambasted the quality of his post The Stranger records, but Storm Front is my favorite album in his whole library. It may not be very hip to admit that you love Billy Joel, but I do. It’s not my favorite Billy Joel song (that’s probably “The Downeaster ‘Alexa'”) but my dad instilled a love of “Goodnight Saigon” into me at an early age. One of the best songs about Vietnam out there, it’s Billy’s take on one of the most polarizing moments in American history. In typical Joel fashion, he nails it.

