Usher1

Like I said everybody, I’m back. And although I’ve been spending an extreme amount of time working either on my screenplays or my actual paying job, I haven’t stopped loving music and staying on top of some of the best tunes around right now. So without further ado, let’s start off 2013’s series of “Songs of the Day” (side note: I’ve decided to stop numbering them because the numbers were getting ridiculous).

Words I never thought I’d say. Usher had one of the best songs not only of last year but of the 2010’s so far. Long-time readers know that I’m a big R&B fan although I don’t listen to very much modern R&B. Usher and Justin Timberlake are two of the only mainstream modern R&B artists that I ever listen to and the latter hasn’t released new music in ages. For reasons that I don’t really understand, I hadn’t had the chance to listen to Usher’s perfect jam “Climax” until a couple weeks ago. And jesus is it good. Usher essentially made a James Blake song and for a fan of indie-influenced electronica/minimalist dubstep, it’s astounding. I’m just going to stop talking and just insist that everyone listen to one of the best tracks of the year. Enjoy.

