ArcadeFire1

In terms of bands that are still together and actively making new music, no one, and I mean no one, is higher on my bucket list of artists to see live than Arcade Fire (especially since I’ve now seen Radiohead live at Bonnaroo). Kanye West may be close, but even he is behind my favorite baroque pop masters. Win Butler and crew are the reason that I got into indie music in the first place thanks to their second full-length album, Neon Bible. But, their best record ultimately proved to be the first one, the now seminal Funeral. If there’s one record that virtually all indie music fans can agree is brilliant, it’s Funeral or Kid A. I bought Funeral (and Kid A) for my growing vinyl collection, and it’s now Arcade Fire’s turn to be represented in my Song of the Day. It’s actually sort of crazy that I never used them before this point. Especially since they’re literally my favorite band whose name isn’t the Beatles. I think Radiohead are better than Arcade Fire, but I love Arcade Fire so much more. So, without further ado, “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels).”

