Foreigner1

Can I admit that Foreigner are by all objective standards a pretty mediocre hard rock band from the late 1970s and early 1980s, and that they probably represented everything wrong with the commercialization and “pop”-ification of rock & roll but then also still say that I love the f*** out of these guys. Seriously, I love Foreigner. Put their greatest hits album on and I’m going to sing along and know the words of more or less every song on there. They’re cheesy as hell. The songs are cliche-ridden. They don’t really have a lot of technical mastery of their instruments. They don’t bring anything new to the table. But for some f***ing terrible reason, I still love Foreigner. I have three of their records on vinyl now, and today’s song comes from their hit album 4. Of course, I’m using “Jukebox Hero” because if you’ve never screamed along with this song, you’re lying or you’ve never heard it. Enjoy.

