FosterThePeople1

(quick aside before my actual post begins. My sister came over today, and therefore, I didn’t have a chance to do very much of my Bonnaroo research. Therefore, this Song of the Day is not Bonnaroo related and was really just the first thing that popped into my head)

Are we far enough removed from the summer that “Pumped Up Kicks” dominated the radio non-stop (requested by legions of listeners who apparently didn’t catch on to the song’s darker subtexts) to finally admit that Foster the People is actually a pretty good band. Yeah, they’re no Radiohead or Arcade Fire, but as far as fun (and I can’t stress how important that is and how little credit “serious” music types tend to give it) indie rock/pop goes, they get the job done. Their album, Torches, is a consistently pleasant and surprising mix of danceable and catchy pop-rock tunes that stick with you even after the album is over, and I think they suffered the same sort of shaming that many “indie” bands who get super popular do, where “indie” fans decide they no longer like them (look at what’s happened to Mumford). I like Foster the People and am not ashamed to admit it. My favorite song on the album is “Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls),” the danciest of all of their tracks. Check it out.

 

