Well, it’s been three and a half months since we’ve been down this path, but I can’t be any happier that we finally made it here. As long time readers know, every 50 films that I review, I do a superlative list of the best films in specific categories that I watched (I also make one at the end of every year). It’s a chance for me to conveniently place in one spot a post where readers can get links to all of the best movies that I’ve reviewed over this particular time period. And more than any single other 4 film block in the blog’s existence, the competition to make these lists (except for the comedy section because I watched a surprisingly low number of comedies) was absurdly intense. Because of my film studies class this semester, I watched a crazy number of “classics” these last couple of months and it will most certainly show. Also, I gave a whopping 5 “A+”s this time around. And on that note, I want to give a special mention to Undefeated, one of the best documentaries I’ve ever seen, which doesn’t qualify for any of the awards I give out on this list, but it was still one of the 5 best films I’ve watched during this particular period on my blog. Anyways, I hope you enjoy the list and find something worth watching therein.

Best Picture – Drama:

Chinatown2

1. Chinatown

2. The Godfather: Part II

3. Glengarry Glenn Ross

4. The Master

5. Gangs of New York

Best Picture – Comedy:

SilverLiningsPlaybook1

1. Silver Linings Playbook

2. Catch-22

3. Clerks II

4. The Great McGinty

5. Brave

Best Director:

RomanPolanski1

1. Roman Polanski: Chinatown

2. Francis Ford Coppola: The Godfather: Part II

3. Ange Lee: Life of Pi

4. Paul Thomas Anderson: The Master

5. Joel Coen: The Man Who Wasn’t There

Best Actor in a Dramatic Role:

JackLemmon1

1. Jack Lemmon: Glengarry Glen Ross

2. Al Pacino: The Godfather: Part II

3. Leonardo DiCaprio: The Departed

4. Joaquin Phoenix: The Master

5. Daniel Day-Lewis: Gangs of New York

Best Actress in a Dramatic Role:

FatalAttraction3

1. Glenn Close: Fatal Attraction

2. Glenda Jackson: Sunday Bloody Sunday

3. Faye Dunaway: Chinatown

4. Jessica Chastain: Zero Dark Thirty

5. Natalie Wood: Rebel Without a Cause

Best Actor in a Comedic Role:

SilverLiningsPLaybook4

1. Bradley Cooper: Silver Linings Playbook

2. Jack Lemmon: How to Murder Your Wife

3. Alan Arkin: Catch-22

4. Brian O’Halloran: Clerks II

5. Jimmy Durante: Billy Rose’s Jumbo

Best Actress in a Comedic Role:

SilverLiningsPlaybook6

1. Jennifer Lawrence: Silver Linings Playbook

2. Rosario Dawson: Clerks II

3. Kelly MacDonald: Brave

4. Doris Day: Billy Rose’s Jumbo

Best Supporting Actor:

AlPacino1

1. Al Pacino: Glengarry Glen Ross

2. Philip Seymour Hoffman: The Master

3. Robert De Niro: Silver Linings Playbook

4. James Gandolfini: The Man Who Wasn’t There

5. Alec Baldwin: Glengarry Glen Ross

Best Supporting Actress:

SallyField1

1. Sally Field: Lincoln

2. Diane Keaton: The Godfather: Part II

3. Judi Dench: Skyfall

4. Samantha Barks: Les Miserables (2012)

5. Frances McDormand: The Man Who Wasn’t There

Alright people, that’s it. Come back in another three months and hopefully I will have reached the 400 movies reviewed mark. If you’re looking for movies to watch, I just recommended plenty of great ones (except for the acting categories where me loving a performance should obviously not necessarily mean I loved the film. *cough* Les Mis *cough*).