Man. I’ve reviewed 400 films for this blog now (plus hundreds of reviews for TV shows and short music posts). That blows my mind. For those who are newcomers to my blog, every fifty films, I make a superlative list of the movies that I’ve reviewed with hyperlinks back to the original review so that my readers who don’t have the time to read all of the reviews I write (and I don’t blame anyone for that) have a way to get a quick summation of what I think are the best things I’ve watched in the last three months or so. And, that’s how it worked out. It’s been three and a half months since the last one of these lists (which can be found here), and I’ll probably have the chance to do one more before I we get around to my blog’s three year anniversary next February.

Here are some quick notes about this particular 50 film block. Natalie Portman now joins Edward Norton as the only person to top one of my categories more than once. Ed Norton was my Best Supporting Actor for 201-250 for Primal Fear and my Best Actor in a Dramatic Role for American History X for 251-300. Natalie Portman was my Best Actress in a Dramatic Role for Black Swan for all the way back in 51-100. You’ll see what she wins for this time around later. Also, at first, this particular block was without question the lowest scoring block I had ever done for my blog, but then the last fifteen or so films was heavily loaded with great movies so it evened out towards the end. Hopefully, you guys can find some good stuff to watch here.

 

Best Picture – Drama:

AmericanPsycho3

1. American Psycho

2. Downfall

3. Good Will Hunting

4. Women in Love

5. Rachel, Rachel

 

Best Picture – Comedy:

AnnieHall3

1. Annie Hall

2. (500) Days of Summer

3. Alice in Wonderland (1951)

4. Raising Arizona

5. Bad Santa

 

Best Director:

WoodyAllen2

1. Woody Allen: Annie Hall

2. Oliver Hirschbiegel: Downfall

3. Oliver Stone: Any Given Sunday

4. Ken Russell: Women in Love

5. Marc Webb: (500) Days of Summer

 

Best Actor in a Dramatic Role:

Downfall2

1. Bruno Ganz: Downfall

2. Christian Bale: American Psycho

3. Daniel Day-Lewis: The Boxer

4. Matt Damon: Good Will Hunting

5. Al Pacino: Any Given Sunday

 

Best Actress in a Dramatic Role:

Revolutionary Road

1. Kate Winslet: Revolutionary Road

2. Joanne Woodward: Rachel, Rachel

3. Glenda Jackson: Women in Love

4. Alexandra Maria Lara: Downfall

5. Bryce Dallas Howard: The Village

 

Best Actor in a Comedic Role:

BadSanta2

1. Billy Bob Thornton: Bad Santa

2. Joseph Gordon-Levitt: (500) Days of Summer

3. Woody Allen: Annie Hall

4. Nicolas Cage: Raising Arizona

5. Matthew Wilkas: Gayby

 

Best Actress in a Comedic Role:

AnnieHall2

1. Diane Keaton: Annie Hall

2. Zooey Deschanel: (500) Days of Summer

3. Holly Hunter: Raising Arizona

4. Lauren Graham: Bad Santa

5. Audrey Hepburn: Sabrina

 

Best Supporting Actor:

Dustinhoffman

1. Dustin Hoffman: Rain Man

2. Robin Williams: Good Will Hunting

3. Michael Shannon: Revolutionary Road

4. Oliver Reed: Women in Love

5. Samuel L. Jackson: Eve’s Bayou

 

Best Supporting Actress:

TheProfessional3

1. Natalie Portman: Léon: The Professional

2. Judi Dench: A Room with a View

3. Jennie Linden: Women in Love

4. Uma Thurman: Tape

5. Corinna Harfouch: Downfall

 

Well people. That’s it. Come back in about three and half months or so for the next fifty movies. And, I actually realized something during this particular review. Diane Keaton has also won twice. She has won twice now in Best Actress in a Comedic Role. The other was for a different Woody Allen film, Love and Death. Now, I’m actually done. Enjoy people. I hope you find a film that looks interesting to you.